top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Monica

Baandam Museum: It's the Black House not the Temple! (+mini video clip)

In evening, I have no schedule on Monday 12th, I went to Bandaam Museum. It's located in Nanglae, Chiang Rai. I went there with my friend, Lya. Our vice president of Tessaban 3 school (Ma'am La) drove us to the black house. It's not really far from my dormitory to go there.


In Thai Language, ‘baan’ it means with house and ‘dam’ means black. So the meaning of Baandam is black house. The architect of Baandam Museum is Thawan Duchanee. Black house is his architectural masterpiece and it was the residence for himself.


I saw house collections with various shapes and sizes dotted around the green garden. Also, inside the house, there are bones, and horns of several animals. And then, I bought watermelon mixed mango juice, it costs 30 baht. I feel fresh when I drank the juice while walking around the black house itself.


For entering this black house, you have to pay the entrance ticket, 80 baht. I recommend this place because it's a good place to relax and enjoy yourself with nature life surrounding. After that, Ma'am La picked us up and go back to our dormitory. For the information, the operational hours until 5 PM.

PS: i just saw the kerbau (krabeu or buffalo) inside and so excited to take a pict with buffalo.

17 views0 comments
bottom of page