top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Monica

First Teaching Abroad: Being an Observer and Teacher Assistant

Begin with nervous ending with the happiness. I think it's a quote that descibes my experiences during SEA Teacher Project Batch 8. From Letter of Acceptance, Chiang Rai Rajabhat University very welcome the students teacher from this project. Picked us up from Mae Fah Luang airport with Ms. Nok, hotel accomodations, school for teaching, buddies, sertificate, presentation of teaching experiences, and cultural performances.


First of all, I thank God because I had this good opportunity, and other support systems. From the pre-departure until comeback home it's like a good impression for myself, and every moments in Thailand.


My school for teaching is Chiang Rai Municipality 3 (Tessaban Sam Srisaimoon). It's located on Mueang, Chiang Rai. It's about three weeks, I lived in Ladawan Dormitory, beside the school itself. The school starts from morning until 4 PM at noon.

First week is my Observation sections, I met principal, vice of the principal, and my mentor at school. This section introduced me about SEA Teacher Project at my school. There are Kindergarten 1 - Primary 6 classes. This section gave me the class schedule that I have to teach and being my mentor assistant.

Second week is being a teacher assistant. As my previous blog, I entered two mentor classes, Teacher Grace and Teacher Ade. In this section, I still observed the various things, such as how two of teachers teaching methods, their approaches to students, and the topic itself. Also, I learned basic Thai Language for the classroom, so that makes me easily taught there.

Teacher Ade gave me idea how to make a simple game for the students, simple quiz, and enjoy teaching at the classroom. Being a teacher assistant is a satisfying thing for me because it's my chance to know the students well, their characters, and so on. I saw the students is fast learner, some of them needs attention for their English learning, such as the numbers in English, sometimes they forgot and didn't know page book have to read from teacher instructions.

-to be cont-

11 views0 comments
bottom of page