top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Monica

First Teaching Abroad: Unforgettable Moments in My Life First Teaching Abroad: Unforgettable Moments

Updated: Sep 30, 2019

Being a teacher is not easy thing in my life, especially being a foreign teacher. Because we have to adapt the culture things in the country itself. According to Oxford Dictionary Online, the definition of adaptation is, "the process of changing something, to suit a new situation." Yes, it's true because I was in Thailand for a month, and that's my first time in my journey life.

Began my previous weeks before Teaching Section, I had two sections, Class Observation & Teacher Assistant. The two sections before is supported my teaching skills for my teaching class. I had morning routine before class, have to eat breakfast to save my energy until lunch time, prepared the lesson plan itself for the weeks I taught, and enjoyed my 'me time' in Chiang Rai.

Until the time comes, I taught grade 5 & 6. After classes, I had discussion with my mentor how to take care of students, and how the class management itself. My mentor said we have to be patient with the students and on time to begin and end the class everyday, and it's challange myself.

I tried myself to give them classroom enjoyment. I tried hand puppets. Even it's usually for kindergarten classes, I brought them to teach the Primary 6. My mission is to bring positive class and improve their speaking skills so that they have self-esteem. I just arranged the sitting arrangement for my class, it makes me easy to control them one by one. After the class, I said to them I have to comeback to my country, Indonesia. And I had selfie with them. I'm happy because all of my projects in the classroom, I did it to my students (I taught them Indonesia traditional songs, and dances).


If I have more additional time to teach them in Thailand, I will give them more and more games and rewards for the students because they have to be brave to speak English in the classroom. English is fun, and we need to be fun so we enjoy learning English Language. Thank you so much for everything, I'll never forget all of the memories there. I hope see you when I see you, schools and my students.

23 views0 comments
bottom of page